Maine has taken a major stride in the direction of making a regulated adult-use cannabis trade after Gov. Janet Mills signed LD 719 into legislation.
The invoice alters the Marijuana Legalization Act and creates a lot of guidelines that can form the state’s leisure cannabis trade. There will likely be 5 tiers of cultivation licenses, starting from craft growers at small nurseries to massive producers with 20,000 sq. ft. of plant cover.
Retailers will likely be permitted to open from 7am to 10pm throughout the state they usually can promote as much as 2.5 ounces of flower to every shopper per day. They will additionally promote edibles or concentrates containing as much as 5g of THC to every shopper every day. Nonetheless, native governments throughout the state can decide out of allowing marijuana stores of their cities in the event that they so need.
Up to now fewer than 20 of Maine’s 455 municipalities have opted into the scheme, bvut that tally is prone to rise within the months forward.
The invoice additionally lays down a lot of little one safety guidelines, safety measures and restrictions round serving dimension, whereas stating that numerous state workers and legislation enforcement officers are ineligible for a Maine marijuana license.
It comes two-and-a-half years after voters within the state backed leisure cannabis legalization in a poll. “Over the course of the final a number of months, my administration has labored rapidly to implement the legislation relating to Maine’s adult-use leisure marijuana market as Maine voters requested the state to do [in 2016],” stated Governor Mills.
She stated her administration is now one step nearer to honouring the need of Maine voters.
The legislation comes into pressure 90 days after the shut of the Maine legislative session on June 20. The state has created an Workplace of Marijuana Coverage, which is collaborating with seven completely different state businesses on the framework. It expects to start accepting purposes for licenses by the tip of 2019.
All candidates] have to be no less than 21 years of age and dwell in Maine, whereas the vast majority of traders have to be from the state. Till June 2021, solely individuals who have lived in Maine for 4 years might be awarded licenses.
The invoice makes Maine the eighth U.S. state to have a transparent path to a business leisure marijuana trade.